C25K Update

Week 2, Day 4

Saturday, February 16

I decided I needed to repeat Week 1’s workout because a.) I hadn’t done it since Monday and b.) I didn’t exactly finish the first day’s run.  It was a gorgeous morning: perfect temperature, sun bright, but not burning.  I definitely waited too long between runs, but the week had some unexpected chaos.  I’m happy I got my ass out there though!  I felt like my breathing was off and my muscles felt tight about halfway through.  I also got a cramp towards the end.  I’m actually surprised that I didn’t get one until now.  After this run, I definitely feel I need to repeat week 1’s workout.  The first couple of runs I felt like I was going faster than my previous “hopping-walk,” but towards the end I definitely reverted back to my slower pace.

Week 2, Day 5ish

Thursday, February 21

Weight: still fat

Here we go again with me not getting my ass out earlier in the week!  I was definitely getting sick (mainly sniffles, sneezing, burning eyes), so I almost didn’t go.  I heard somewhere that working out while sickly wasn’t a good idea- something about your body is fighting off the sickness, so you shouldn’t exert yourself.  If anyone knows different, please let me know.  So, how did I get my ass in sneakers and outside?  I told myself I was going to just walk today.  I figured it would be much better than sitting on my fat ass, surfing the Internet and smoking cigarettes.

I went my usual route and used a pedometer app instead of the C25K app.  I was curious to know how far I had gone the last several times.  Turns out it’s 1.3 miles, approximately 3280 steps (I say approximately because I think it jipped me in the beginning), it took me 29 mins and I maxed out at about 3mph (watch out NASCAR!).  I’m clearly not going for any world records here.  I kept up a steady brisk-ish walk the entire time.  Towards the end, my left heel and right arm went numb and my right leg started hurting. Seriously?  WTF?  I thought walking was supposed to be easier!

Side note: I haven’t started “dieting” with this yet, so I’m not really anticipating losing much of anything fast.  I have always done the diet first and said I’d start exercising down the road. Well, I never got to the exercising part and clearly that method hasn’t worked.  This led me to the decision to switch it up a bit.  I AM trying to drink more water.  OK, I’m trying to START drinking water: going from zero water and now I’m working on drinking one bottle per day- hey, you gotta start somewhere!

Leave a comment